Myron T. Steele

Myron T. Steele

Hon.D. L.D., University of Delaware, 2014
LL.M., University of Virginia School of Law, 2005
J.D., University of Virginia School of Law, 1970
B.A., University of Virginia, 1967

Partner, Potter Anderson & Corroon LLP; Former Chief Justice of the Delaware Supreme Court
Myron T. Steele is a partner at the Delaware law firm Potter Anderson & Corroon and retired Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Delaware. Previously, he served as a Vice Chancellor of the Delaware Court of Chancery. He has presided over major corporate litigation, LLC and limited partner governance disputes and writes frequently on issues of corporate document interpretation and corporate governance. Steele has published more than 300 opinions resolving disputes among members of limited liability companies, and limited partnerships, and between shareholders and management of both publicly traded and closely held corporations.

Steele serves as Adjunct Professor of Law at the University of Virginia Law School.  He has also served as Adjunct Professor of Law at the University of Pennsylvania Law School and Pepperdine University Law School.

In October 2012, the U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform honored Steele with the Judicial Leadership Achievement Award.

Steele is a Governance Fellow and has been named to The National Associate of Corporate Directors (NACD) 2014 Hall of Fame and continues to be listed on the annual NACD Directorship 100 most influential people in corporate governance in the United States. Steele was also the recipient of the Citadel School of Business Hall of Fame in 2015.  Ethisphere Magazine ranked Steele second in its list of the 100 Most Influential People in Business Ethics for 2007. Lawdragon Magazine has consistently placed Steele among its annual Lawdragon 500 Leading Lawyers in America and Top Judges in America.

Steele is a member of The Warren E. Burger Society of the National Center for State Courts and he is one of fourteen Founding Trustees for the American College of Corporate Governance Counsel (equivalent to the American College of Trial Attorneys) with only 50 attorneys, academics and judges elected to membership nationwide.